Skip to content


A.B., University of California, Riverside, 1960. Ph.D., California Institute of Technology, 1964 (Harden M. McConnell). Postdoctoral: Stanford University, 1965. Honors and Awards: NSF Predoctoral Fellow, 1965; National Academy of Sciences-National Research Council Fellow, 1967-69; Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation Teacher-Scholar Award, 1970; John S. Guggenheim Memorial Foundation, 1977-78; Burlington Northern Foundation Award for Teaching Excellence, 1987; NSF two year Research Creativity Extension, 1992; editorial board of Chemistry and Physics of Lipids.At Oregon since 1965.