Skip to content


B.A., Rice University, 1987. Ph.D., Rice University, 1991 (W. Edward Billups). Postdoctoral: University of California, Berkeley, 1991-193 (K. Peter C. Vollhardt). Honors and Awards: American Chemical Society, Division of Organic Chemistry Fellowship, 1990-1991; NSF Postdoctoral Fellowship, 1991-1993; NSF CAREER Award, 1995-1998; US-Israel BSF Ernst D. Bergmann Memorial Award, 1997; Richard A. Bray Faculty Fellow, 1998; Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar, 1998-2003; Alexander von Humboldt Research Fellow, 2000-2001; Thomas F. Herman Faculty Achievement Award for Distinguished Teaching, 2002; University of Oregon Fund for Faculty Members Excellence Award, 2007; Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science, 2011; Richard M. and Patricia H. Noyes Professor of Chemistry, 2013-current; Head of the Department 2008-2014; American Chemical Society George A. Olah Award in Hydrocarbon or Petroleum Chemistry, 2021. At Oregon since 1993.