Skip to content


Janet Wasko studies the political economy of media, communication and the environment, media theory, and international communication. She is author or editor of twenty-three books, a recipient of the C. Edwin Baker Award for the Advancement of Scholarship on Media, Markets and Democracy, and an International Communication Association Fellow.

She was selected as an inaugural member of the UO Sustainability Faculty Fellows, and shared the Eugene Convention Leadership Award for presiding over 1,000 scholars at the IAMCR’s Reimagining Sustainability conference. Wasko is founder and co-director of the What is…? Series, and has served as Philip H. Knight Chair in Communication Research and President of the International Association for Media and Communication Research (IAMCR).