Skip to content


A.B., Harvard University, 1952. M.S., Yale University, 1953. Ph.D., Yale University, 1955 (John G. Kirkwood, Lars Onsager). Postdoctoral: Institute voor Theoretische Physica, University of Amsterdam, 1955-56 (Jan de Boer); Enrico Fermi Institute, University of Chicago, 1956-58 (Joseph Mayer). Honors and Awards: NSF Postdoctoral Fellow, 1955-56; Alfred P. Sloan Fellow, 1961-65; NSF Senior Postdoctoral Fellow, 1968-69; Heinrich Hertz Fellow (West Germany) and Meyerhoff Fellow (Israel). At Oregon since 1962.