Skip to content

Honors and Awards

2017 Special Recognition for Long-Standing Leadership Excellence and Service to the College of Education, University of Oregon, for seven years of leadership as Department Head. 

2014 Fellow, Society of Counseling Psychology, Division 17 of the American Psychological Association. 

2009 Research Fellow, Oregon Community Credit Union, Eugene, OR. 

2009 Nominated for the American Psychological Association (APA), Society of Counseling Psychology, 2009 Social Justice Award for community-based service conducted in Santiago, Chile since 1997. 

2008 Psychologist of the Year Award, Lane County Psychologists’ Association, Co-recipient with E.H. McWhirter for outstanding contributions to doctoral program development and to doctoral research, clinical, and multicultural competency training, Lane County, Oregon. 

2007 Spencer Foundation Award, (Small Grant Program, 2007-2009), Chicago, Illinois. 

2007 Co-recipient (with University of Oregon Counseling Psychology program faculty) of the American Psychological Association of Graduate Students (APAGS) Department of the Year Award. 

2004 Fulbright Scholar to Chile, Council for the International Exchange of Scholars, United States Department of State. 

2001 APA Suinn Minority Achievement Award (co-recipient as Training Director, awarded to UO Counseling Psychology Program), for contributions to training psychologists of color. 

2001 Outstanding Faculty Award, University of Oregon (UO) Office of Multicultural Affairs. 

2001 Weaving New Beginnings Program Award (co-recipient) for Counseling Psychology Program, Associated Students of UO and UO Office of Multicultural Affairs. 

1993 Joan Dallam Graduate Student Research Award, American College Personnel Association, ACPA Counseling and Psychological Services Commission. 

1991 APA Student Dissertation Research Award, APA Science Directorate. 

1991 Commendation for Teaching Excellence, Division of Psychology in Education, Arizona State University.